Daily Journal masthead

Branstad requests presidential disaster declaration for 19 Iowa counties damaged by storms


DES MOINES, Iowa — Gov. Terry Branstad is asking President Barack Obama to issue a presidential disaster declaration for 19 Iowa counties to aid recovery from damaging storms in June.

Branstad announced Wednesday he was sending a letter to Obama that seeks the declaration for Allamakee, Appanoose, Butler, Clayton, Dallas, Davis, Des Moines, Guthrie, Howard, Jefferson, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Mitchell, Monroe, Warren, Wayne, Winneshiek and Wright counties.

They were damaged by winds, tornadoes, heavy rain, hail and thunderstorms from June 20 to 25.

A preliminary damage assessment found the weather caused $5.1 million in damage that would be eligible for aid through the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Public Assistance Program.

That program aids the rebuilding of damaged infrastructure, including roads, bridges and public facilities. It also covers the cost of debris removal.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to info@ap.org and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow Daily Journal:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.