Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame to induct 4 in January


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




AUSTIN, Texas — A Pulitzer Prize winner, a longtime columnist and the principals in the Harte-Hanks newspaper partnership will be inducted into the Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame.

An induction ceremony will be held Jan. 23 during the Texas Press Association 2015 Midwinter Conference and Trade Show at Moody Gardens Hotel in Galveston.

The 2015 honorees include Ken Towery, a reporter and managing editor of the Cuero Daily Record who received the Pulitzer Prize for Local Reporting in 1955 for his series exposing the Texas Veterans Land Board scandal; Leon Hale, a longtime feature columnist for the Houston Chronicle; and Houston Harte and Bernard Hanks, who formed a partnership that eventually included 19 daily newspapers and several non-daily newspapers with a combined circulation of more than 600,000 in six states.

The Austin-based foundation created the hall of fame in 2006 and each year honors up to four people for outstanding contributions to the newspaper industry and to their communities.

All content copyright ©2014 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.