St. John's Sir'Dominic Pointer wins Haggerty Award as Met Area's top college player


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)






NEW YORK — Sir'Dominic Pointer of St. John's won the Haggerty Award on Wednesday, presented to the All-Met Division I player of the year by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association.

Glenn Braica of St. Francis Brooklyn and Jim Engles of NJIT were named co-coaches of the year while Eric Paschall of Fordham and Angel Delgado of Seton Hall shared rookie of the year honors.

Pointer, a senior swingman from Detroit, was the Big East co-Defensive Player of the Year and averaged 13.7 points and 7.7 rebounds for the Red Storm (21-12), who reached the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2011. Pointer, the 26th St. John's player to win the award since it started in 1933, follows teammate D'Angelo Harrison as the winner of the Haggerty.

On the All-Met first team with Pointer and Harrison were David Laury and A.J. English of Iona; Jalen Cannon of St. Francis Brooklyn; and Jameel Warney of Stony Brook.

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.