Daily Journal masthead

President declares disaster for 12 South Dakota counties, 3 tribes, paving way for federal aid


PIERRE, South Dakota — President Barack Obama has declared a disaster for 12 South Dakota counties and three American Indian reservations that suffered damage during severe storms in late June.

Gov. Dennis Daugaard says the storms caused an estimated $3 million in damage. The presidential disaster declaration paves the way for federal aid to state, local and tribal governments, and to some private nonprofits.

Counties included in the declaration are Brule, Buffalo, Fall River, Haakon, Hughes, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Lyman, McCook, Oglala Lakota and Stanley. Reservations include Crow Creek, Lower Brule and Pine Ridge.

Storms from June 17-24 brought large hail, heavy rains, strong winds and a tornado near Hayes. Damage included downed power lines, debris from fallen trees and washed-out roads and bridges.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to info@ap.org and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow Daily Journal:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.