Gov. Dennis Daugaard honors outstanding South Dakota educators during Capitol speech


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




PIERRE, South Dakota — Gov. Dennis Daugaard has honored outstanding educators in South Dakota, including national Milken Educator Award winner LeeAnna Rabine from Sioux Falls.

The governor reflected on how teachers impacted his early life in a Thursday speech in the Capitol rotunda where he also congratulated South Dakota Teacher of the Year Allen Hogie, a math teacher from Brandon Valley High School.

Hogie is South Dakota's candidate for the national Teacher of the Year award. The award's nationwide recipient will be announced in Washington in April.

Daugaard used the opportunity to congratulate South Dakota's regional finalists for the Teacher of the Year award: Jennifer Larson, Sanborn Central School District; Lori Wagner, Webster Area School District, Justin Speck, Rapid City Area School District; Pam Wells, Mobridge-Pollock School District; and Ann Noyes, Pierre School District.

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.