Vermont: 12 counties could be eligible for disaster aid following storm


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




WATERBURY, Vermont — Vermont emergency management officials are asking federal officials to assess damage in eight more counties for possible federal disaster assistance following last week's snowstorm that caused more than 130,000 power outages.

The additional counties are Addison, Caledonia, Essex, Grand Isle, Orange, Rutland, Washington, and Windsor, on top of Chittenden, Franklin, Lamoille, and Orleans counties.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency started a preliminary assessment of damage on Wednesday.

State officials said Friday that an initial review showed the costs of restoring power in northern and central to be more than $4 million.

All content copyright ©2014 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.