Indianapolis Star reporter Marisa Kwiatkowski wins state SPJ Journalist of the Year honor


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




INDIANAPOLIS — Indianapolis Star reporter Marisa Kwiatkowski has been named Indiana Journalist of the Year by the Society of Professional Journalists' Indiana Chapter.

Kwiatkowski was honored during the group's awards banquet Friday night for work including investigations into troubles with the state's child protection system.

Mikel Livingston and Steven Porter of the Lafayette Journal & Courier won the Story of the Year award for their project piercing the belief that waves of poor blacks moving from Chicago were to blame for gangs and crime in Lafayette.

Kathleen McLaughlin of the Indianapolis Business Journal won the First Amendment Award for her pursuit of public records regarding the proposed new Marion County judicial center.

Kayla Sullivan from the University of Indianapolis was named Student Journalist of the Year.

Full awards list:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.