Finalists announced in 2014 APME newspaper contest in Michigan


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




DETROIT — DIVISION II, Newspapers with daily circulation of 10,000 to 39,999

Best Multimedia Journalist: Mark Bugnaski, Kalamazoo Gazette; Melanie Maxwell, The Ann Arbor News; Ryan Stanton, The Ann Arbor News.

Best Editorial Writer: Tom Walker, Port Huron Times Herald; Dave Miller, Traverse City Record-Eagle; Mike Tyree, Traverse City Record-Eagle.

Best Writer: John Counts, The Ann Arbor News; Bob Johnson, The Saginaw News; Nicole Hayden, Port Huron Times Herald.

Best Sustained Coverage in Sports: The Muskegon Chronicle, "Boys Basketball Coach Dies"; The Muskegon Chronicle, "Basketball Standout Killed"; Michael Niziolek, The Ann Arbor News, "Saline Football Div. 1."

Best Sports Enterprise: Steven Strayer, The (Adrian) Daily Telegram, "A Heart Filled With Purpose"; Dan D'Adonna, The Holland Sentinel, "Put My Life in Perspective"; Lee Thompson, The Bay City Times, "50-year Anniversary of Terry McDermott's Gold."

Best Sports Column: James Cook, Traverse City Record-Eagle, "Lombardi Would Have Embraced Sam"; Justin Dacey, Kalamazoo Gazette, "Hackett CC Climbing KVA Ruler Inch by Inch"; Hugh Bernreuter, The Saginaw News, "Ithaca's Streak Comes to an End."

Best Sports Coverage: Lee Thompson, The Bay City Times, "Nobody Knocks 'Em Down Like Alex Ouellette"; The Muskegon Chronicle, "Muskegon Boys Basketball State Championship"; Kyle Austin and Pete Cunningham, The Ann Arbor News, "Milan State Championship Basketball."

Best Informational Graphics or Illustrations: Jim Dombrowski, Monroe News, "Religion in Monroe"; Ed Riojas, Kalamazoo Gazette, "Water Woes"; Michael Eckert, Port Huron Times Herald, "Bridge Is a Monument to Ingenuity."

Best News Photo: Pete Rodman, Traverse City Record-Eagle, "Blazes Keep Firefighters Busy"; Patrick Record, The Ann Arbor News, "Marriage Equality"; Junfu Han, Kalamazoo Gazette, "Michael Day Vigil."

Best Feature Photo: Mark Bugnaski, Kalamazoo Gazette, "Golf-Course Fawn"; Pete Rodman, Traverse City Record-Eagle, "Snowball Effect"; Jeff Schrier, The Saginaw News, "Pushing Through Snow and Cold."

Best Sports Photo: Jan-Michael Stump, Traverse City Record-Eagle, "Rivalry Win"; Cory Morse, The Muskegon Chronicle, "Caught By a Thread"; Danielle McGrew, The Bay City Times, "Gabe Martinez Dives In."

Best Photo Essay: Katie McLean, The Ann Arbor News, "Veteran portraits"; Mark Bugnaski, Kalamazoo Gazette, "Former Boyfriend Attempts Murder"; Melanie Maxwell, The Ann Arbor News, "Jaylen Johnson."

Best Video: Tyler Stabile, The Ann Arbor News, "The Legacy of Willow Run"; Junfu Han, Kalamazoo Gazette, "Happy Mother's Day"; Yfat Yossifor, The Bay City Times, "Never Forget."

Best Multimedia Storytelling: Beth LeBlanc, Port Huron Times Herald, "Coast Guard"; Jeremy Allen and Taylor Stabile, The Ann Arbor News, "University of Michigan Oak Tree"; Patrick Record, The Ann Arbor News, "Michigan Veterans Remember Fellow Service Members."

Best Website: Jack Telfer, Midland Daily News; Rob Gorczyca, Monroe News; Michael Eckert, Port Huron Times Herald.

Best Feature Story: Penny Mullins, Marinette EagleHerald, "Sharing His Musical Talent"; Bob Johnson, The Saginaw News, "Charin Davenport"; John Counts, The Ann Arbor News, "A Tale of Two Towns."

Best Public Service: Lindsay Knake and Amy Biolchini, The Ann Arbor News, "Whitmore Lake Annexation Vote"; Lynn Moore, The Muskegon Chronicle, "Schools' Financial Storm Series"; Battle Creek Enquirer, "Granting Wishes."

Best News Column: Mike Connell, Port Huron Times Herald, "Port Huron Mourns the Loss of a Good Man"; Julie Mack, Kalamazoo Gazette, "Two Debates About Guns Go On in Separate Worlds"; Jodi McFarland, The Saginaw News, "Questions for Children's Protective Services After Death of 6-Year-Old."

Best Breaking News: Jim Hayden and Andrew Whitaker, The Holland Sentinel, "Birthday Surprise"; Aaron Mueller and Mark Bugnaski, Kalamazoo Gazette, "Teenager Assaulted"; Traverse City Record-Eagle, "Kalkaska Double Murders."

Best Sustained Coverage in News: Andrew Dodson, The Bay City Times, "Bay City Smart Meters"; Matt Troutman and Michael Walton, Traverse City Record-Eagle, "Fatal Shooting Coverage"; Ray Kisonas, Monroe News, "Squatter."

Best Investigative Reporting: Julie Mack, Kalamazoo Gazette, "Inappropriate Remarks Dot Coach's History"; Mark Tower, The Saginaw News, "Jordan Haskins"; John Counts, The Ann Arbor News, "Drug Thefts at UM."

Best Enterprise Reporting: Jeremy Allen, The Ann Arbor News, "Questions Left Unanswered"; Brad Devereaux, The Saginaw News, "Oakley"; Kyle Feldscher, The Ann Arbor News, "Heroin's grip."


All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.