Daily Journal masthead

5 more Texas counties get federal disaster status from deadly storms since early May


AUSTIN, Texas — Five more Texas counties have been granted federal disaster status to assist with recovery from deadly severe weather since early May.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency on Thursday announced Bowie (BOO'-ee), Brazoria, Cherokee, Ellis and Harrison counties have been added to the list.

Individuals in 36 Texas counties are now eligible to seek state and federal disaster help from violent weather between May 4 through June 19. The deadline for applying is July 28.

Two people died in a May 10 tornado in Van, about 70 miles southeast of Dallas. Memorial Day weekend flooding in parts of Texas claimed more than two dozen lives statewide. Storms and flooding continued into June.



Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to info@ap.org and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)





Follow Daily Journal:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.