House Rules Committee names 2 new members, replacing lawmakers who opposed Speaker Boehner


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)





WASHINGTON — House GOP leaders have named two lawmakers to coveted spots on the House Rules Committee, replacing members who were excluded after opposing House Speaker John Boehner (BAY'nuhr).

The new members are Republicans Bradley Byrne of Alabama and Dan Newhouse of Washington.

They replace Florida Reps. Daniel Webster and Rich Nugent, who were left off the panel in January after voting against Boehner's election as speaker.

The Rules Committee sets ground rules for debate on all legislation in the House, and is informally known as the speaker's committee.

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.