Daily Journal masthead

7 federal disaster recovery centers in 5 Texas counties to close, help since May storms


AUSTIN, Texas — Seven federal disaster recovery centers in five Texas counties will close this week after providing assistance since deadly May storms.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says the sites will operate through Thursday. That's also the last day for survivors of the May 4 to June 22 storms and flooding to register for FEMA assistance or Small Business Administration loans.

The FEMA locations are in Caldwell, Harris, Hays, Jim Wells and Nueces (nyoo-AY'-sis) counties.

FEMA so far has approved nearly $50 million in assistance for individuals statewide, mainly for housing needs. Officials say nearly 34,000 Texas households registered for help.

Memorial Day weekend flooding in parts of Texas claimed more than two dozen lives. The bodies of two children, swept away by floodwaters in Wimberley, have yet to be recovered.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to info@ap.org and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow Daily Journal:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.