Broadcast award winners honored in Alabama Associated Press Media Editors contest

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




ATLANTA — The Alabama Associated Press Media Editors awards for most outstanding broadcast news operations have gone to Alabama Public Radio, WBMA-TV ABC 33/40 and WTVY-TV.

The awards were presented Saturday in Atlanta.

The awards for best regularly scheduled newscast went to Alabama Public Radio in radio and to WKRG-TV and WKRG-TV for television. The radio award for best anchor was presented to Marcus Hyles of WVAS.

Sherri Jackson of WIAT-TV and Mark Thornhill of WAFF-TV were named best TV news anchors. Lauren Sisler of WIAT-TV and , Matt Harris of WTVY-TV were chosen best TV sports anchors. The awards for best TV weather anchor went to James Spann of WBMA TV and Marcy Novak of WAKA-TV CBS 8.

WAKA-TV won the broadcast cooperation award.

All content copyright ©2014 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.