Daily Journal masthead

Board grants home rule status to 6 West Virginia municipalities


CHARLESTON, West Virginia — Six West Virginia municipalities have been given a larger say in how they govern.

The West Virginia Municipal Home Rule Board granted home rule status to Beckley, Grafton, Princeton, St. Albans, Moundsville and Oak Hill on Monday.

There are now 26 municipalities participating in the pilot program, which shifts power from the state to the local level.

The program began as a five-year pilot in 2007 in Bridgeport, Charleston, Huntington and Wheeling. Since then, the Legislature has expanded the program to 34 municipalities.

The West Virginia Department of Commerce says there are still openings for four municipalities with populations of less than 2,000 and four municipalities with populations of 2,000 or more.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to info@ap.org and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow Daily Journal:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.