Americans Mendelblatt, Fatih win Star Sailors League Finals


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)





NASSAU, Bahamas — Americans Mark Mendelblatt and Brian Fatih won the second Star Sailors League Finals on Saturday, beating a field that included a handful of Olympic gold medalists.

Mendelblatt and Fatih came through the 10-boat quarterfinals and the six-boat semifinals to win the four-boat final.

They finished ahead of 2012 Olympic gold medalist Freddy Loof and crew Anders Ekstrom of Sweden; Mateusz Kusznierewicz and Dominik Zycki of Poland; and Jorge Zarif and Henry Boening of Brazil.

Defending champion Robert Scheidt, a two-time Olympic gold medalist, and crew Bruno Prada of Brazil were eliminated in the semifinal. Top-ranked Diego Negri and crew Sergio Lambertenghi of Italy were eliminated in the semis.

All content copyright ©2014 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.