Daily Journal masthead

Fayette County joins federal disaster declaration, people in 31 Texas counties can seek help


AUSTIN, Texas — Fayette County has been added to the list of federal disaster areas in Texas following deadly severe weather that began in early May.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency on Thursday announced individuals in 31 Texas counties are eligible to seek help — and thousands have.

A FEMA statement says people in more than 19,000 households have registered for financial assistance following violent weather May 4 through June 19. FEMA so far has approved more than $31 million for disaster help.

A man and a woman were killed May 10 when a tornado hit Van, about 70 miles southeast of Dallas. Memorial Day weekend flooding in parts of Texas claimed more than two dozen lives statewide.



Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to info@ap.org and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow Daily Journal:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.