Daily Journal masthead

Cumberland, Benham and Lynch in Harlan County designated as Kentucky Trail Town


FRANKFORT, Kentucky — Three communities in eastern Kentucky have been named the state's 13th Trail Town, a designation used to promote adventure tourism.

The communities are Cumberland, Benham and Lynch in Harlan County.

The Trail Town Program is designed to guide travelers to trails, food, lodging, campgrounds, museums, entertainment and other services.

Other locations already designated as Trail Towns are Dawson Springs, Livingston, Morehead, Olive Hill, London, Stearns, Elkhorn City, Jamestown, Manchester, Royalton, Berea and Columbia.

The Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet said Monday that more than 30 communities have started the application process to become a Trail Town.

Some of the attractions offered in the Cumberland, Benham and Lynch area include Pine Mountain State Scenic Trail, Kingdom Come State Park, Looney Creek Trail, the Stables at Creekside Glen, the Cumberland River and Kentucky Summit Trail for cycling.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to info@ap.org and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




Follow Daily Journal:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.