Melvin Gordon earns Big Ten Offensive Player of Year award; Joey Bosa takes defensive honors


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)






Photo Gallery:

Click to view (3 Photos)

ROSEMONT, Illinois — Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon is the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year.

Ohio State defensive end Joey Bosa took top honors on the defensive side while Buckeyes quarterback J.T. Barrett was selected Freshman of the Year. Minnesota's Jerry Kill was honored as Coach of the Year by both the conference coaches and media on Tuesday.

Gordon leads the nation with a Big Ten and school-record 2,260 yards rushing and is a big reason why the Badgers will meet Ohio State in the conference championship game.

He also held the FBS single-game record for one week, running for 408 yards against Nebraska last month before Oklahoma's Samaje Perine put up 427 against Kansas.

Gordon is the fifth Badgers running back to be selected Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year along with Montee Ball (2011), John Clay (2009), Heisman Trophy winner Ron Dayne (1999) and Brent Moss (1993).

Bosa is the ninth Buckeye to receive the conference's top defensive award and the second in three seasons along with John Simon in 2012. Bosa leads the Big Ten with 13 1/2 sacks and 20 tackles for loss and is tied for the lead with four forced fumbles.

Barrett was responsible for a Big Ten single-season record for 45 touchdowns — 34 passing and 11 rushing.

Kill has led Minnesota to consecutive eight-win seasons, including an 8-4 mark this year. Five Gophers players were selected first-team, all-conference this season, including Punter of the Year Peter Mortell and Tight End of the Year Maxx Williams.

All content copyright ©2014 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.