Daily Journal masthead

Brown, Shelby elected to 3-year terms on Pulitzer Prize Board


NEW YORK — The board that chooses the winners of the Pulitzer Prizes has two new members.

Columbia University announced on Thursday that Neil Brown, editor and vice president of the Tampa Bay Times, and Harvard University Professor Tommie Shelby have been elected to three-year terms on the 19-member board.

Brown became editor of the Times in 2010 after being managing editor and executive editor. It has won five Pulitzers under his leadership.

Shelby is a professor of African and African American studies and of philosophy at Harvard. He has written two books and is working on his third, which focuses on black urban poverty.

Members of the board can serve up to nine years.

Columbia manages the prizes, which recognize excellence in journalism, books, drama and music.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to info@ap.org and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)





Follow Daily Journal:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.