Daily Journal masthead

Iowa receives federal disaster declaration for 19 counties hit by severe weather


DES MOINES, Iowa — A federal disaster declaration has been issued for 19 Iowa counties damaged by severe weather in June.

Gov. Terry Branstad said Monday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved a request for a presidential disaster declaration. The declaration covers Allamakee, Appanoose, Butler, Clayton, Dallas, Davis, Des Moines, Guthrie, Howard, Jefferson, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Mitchell, Monroe, Warren, Wayne, Winneshiek and Wright.

Branstad requested the support after the counties were damaged by winds, tornadoes, rain, hail and thunderstorms from June 20 to June 25.

The declaration means the counties will get federal funding to help with rebuilding efforts, such as repairing property, removing debris and other emergency work.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

Story copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Feedback, Corrections and Other Requests: AP welcomes feedback and comments from readers. Send an email to info@ap.org and it will be forwarded to the appropriate editor or reporter.

We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)


Follow Daily Journal:

All content copyright ©2015 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.