New food stamp rules for New Mexico exclude some counties, tribes, pueblos


We also have more stories about:
(click the phrases to see a list)




ALBUQUERQUE, New Mexico — A state agency for now is exempting several New Mexico counties and about a dozen Native American tribes and pueblos from new work-related rules for participation in the food stamp nutrition-assistance program.

The Albuquerque Journal ( ) reports that counties being excluded from the rules include Luna, McKinley and Mora and that the tribes and pueblos being exempted include the Navajo Nation.

The new rules are scheduled to start taking effect Nov. 1 in three planned phases. Counties in the first phase include Bernalillo, Sandoval, Santa Fe and Valencia.

The exemptions from Human Services Department rules to reimpose and broad work requirements are based on high unemployment rates.

All content copyright ©2014 Daily Journal, a division of Home News Enterprises unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.