A 15-year-old who has zero experience behind the wheel can drive next to you during your morning commute on State Road 135.
That’s because Indiana law only requires teens to be 15 and have a state identification card before they can join cars and trucks on Indiana highways. Residents who have lost their driver’s licenses for driving while intoxicated also can take to the road on a mo-ped.
The state restricts small mo-peds, or any motorized bike that isn’t designed to drive faster than 25 mph and therefore isn’t classified as a motorcycle, to driving at the 25 mph limit and doesn’t allow them on interstates.
A movement is underway to change state law.