Daily Journal Masthead

Koch, Frizzell win in Districts 65, 93

Follow Daily Journal:

A pair of Republican incumbents kept their state representative seats, breezing to easy victories against their opponents.

Eric Koch, R-Bedford, defeated Libertarian challenger Al Cox to win the District 65 seat. In District 93, 10-term representative David Frizzell, R-Indianapolis, defeated first-time challenger Democrat Ryan Guillory.

Both incumbents ran on a platform of fiscal responsibility for the state, pointing to their record of helping balance the budget.

Koch received 1,820 votes for 81 percent of Johnson County’s vote, while Cox took 416 votes, or 19 percent. Final district results were unavailable.

District 65 state representative

Al Cox (L)    19%

Eric A. Koch (R)    81%

District 93 state representative

David N. Frizzell (R)    74%

Ryan Guillory (D)    26%

Frizzell took 11,304 votes for 68 percent of the total, compared to Guillory’s 5,209 votes, or 32 percent. Frizzell also received the most votes in Johnson County, as well.

Koch was elected to the Indiana House in 2002.

The Bedford resident has served as the chairman of the House election and apportionment committee and has been involved with issues such as government reduction, energy and military base planning.

Cox, from Nashville, has been chairman of the Brown County Libertarian Party for 10 years and ran for the District 65 seat in 2008 and 2010.

If elected, his goal was to bring the government back in line with the U.S. Constitution. Unless it is spelled out in the Constitution, government shouldn’t have the right to take actions such as impose property taxes, take property by eminent domain or regulate business, he said.

This is the first time the winner of the District 65 seat will represent parts of Johnson County. Due to redistricting after the 2010 Census, voters in parts of Nineveh and Hensley townships will be represented by the newly drawn district, after formerly voting in District 47. The district also represents Brown County and parts of Jackson, Lawrence and Monroe counties.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 Daily Journal, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.