Daily Journal Masthead

Greenwood police honor officers, staff

Follow Daily Journal:

Dozens of officers and employees were honored for their service and work at the Greenwood Police Department.

Every year, the police department honors officers and employees for their years of work, and the mayor and chief of police also pick officers to honor at the awards banquet. Other awards, including certificates of commendation and medal of merit, are given after a nomination by a peer or supervisor and approval by the awards committee.

Here is the list of awards:

Certificates of commendation, honoring officers that peers or supervisors nominated for outstanding performance:

Officer Jason York, U.S. Marshals Service; Officers Kyle Slone, Steve Estrada, John Myers and Kortney Burrello; Detective Brian Swisher; K-9 Officer Danny Skeel and K-9 Yogi; and Officer James Trimble.

Legion of merit commendation to recognize an officer outside of the police department who helped in local police work:

Indiana State Police Trooper Shane Cunningham

Medal of merit to honor an officer’s outstanding accomplishment, whose service has gone beyond the normal duties:

Officer Brian Folco

Civilian of the year:

Administrative assistant Melinda Block

Detective of the year:

Doug Wood

Supervisor of the year:

Sgt. James Ison

Chief of police award:

Officer James Trimble

Mayor’s award:

Officer Eric McElhaney

Certificate of appreciation:

Ball State University students Caitlyn Bartnik and Elizabeth Ambs, who interned with the police department in connection with Crime Stoppers of Indiana

Plaque of appreciation:

Johnson County Fraternal Order of Police Lodge No. 154 Auxiliary

SWAT years of service recognition

10 years: Officer Jeff Houchins; 13 years: Officer Timothy Guinan; 18 years: SWAT medic chief James Sipes

Greenwood Police Department years of service recognition

Five years of service:

Detective Jay Arnold; records clerk Misty Ituarte; property room manager Jack Napier; records clerk Sue Roller; Officer Kyle Slone; Officer Zachary Vincent; Officer Jason York; and records clerk Maureen Saltsgaver.

10 years of service:

Officer Brent Goebel; Detective Aaron Hagist; training director, Sgt. Jason Holtzleiter; Officer Jeff Houchins; Sgt. James Ison; Officer James Long; Deputy Chief of Police James Prior; Officer Paula Redd; Detective Rex Saltsgaver; Detective Brian Swisher; records clerk Melissa Weathers; Officer Aaron Wehnert; and Detective Doug Wood

15 years of service:

Dispatcher Cathy Beal; dispatcher Patricia Brown; Officer Scott Cottongim; dispatcher Traci Cox; Detective Patti Cummings; Officer Randall Eck; Assistant Chief Matt Fillenwarth; Officer Jason Grable; Officer Timothy Guinan; dispatch supervisor Sherri Hause; K-9 Officer Richard Kelly; Detective Sgt. Eric Klinkowski; Officer Greg Lengerich; Sgt. Jeff McCorkle; Officer Eric McElhaney; Officer Michele Richardson and Sgt. Doug Roller.

20 years of service:

Dispatcher Carol Beck; Lt. Brian Blackwell; Officer Bruce Campbell; Deputy Chief of Police Gary Duvall; Officer Renee Elliott; Officer Steve Estrada; Officer Larry LaBonte; dispatcher David Maloney; and Officer John Myers, Jr.

25 years of service:

Chief John Laut; Officer William Leppert; fingerprint expert Eric Lowe; Officer Max Maxfield; Sgt. Timothy McLaughlin; Lt. Richard McQueary; Lt. David Mertz; records supervisor Leslie Sherman; and Officer Daniel Skeel.

30 years of service:

Officer Cynthia Carroll; Sgt. Russell Crague; and Officer Michael Wright

35 years of service: Lt. Robert Dine

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 Daily Journal, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.