Daily Journal Masthead

Filing period opens for 2014 primary election; 1 race assured

Follow Daily Journal:

One contested primary race already is set after the first day of candidate filing for this year’s election.

Six candidates filed to get their names on the ballot. Four of those people are not incumbents, including two candidates vying for the county auditor seat.

Jason Miller and Pamela Burton, both Republicans, will face off in May for auditor. Current auditor Jan Richhart cannot run again because she has served two terms.

Republican James Ison filed for the Johnson County Council District 4 seat currently held by Anita Knowles, who said she does not plan to run again. Republican Ray Walton will run for the Blue River Township trustee seat currently held by Larry Whitlock.

Two Republican incumbents also filed for county offices Wednesday, including Jill Jackson for recorder and Sue Ann Misiniec for clerk.

This year’s ballot will include some other key races where incumbents will not run again. One county commissioner seat will be filled by a new candidate as well as the judge position for the new Superior Court 4, which opens in 2015.

Some school board seats will be on the ballot in November.

Think your friends should see this? Share it with them!

All content copyright ©2016 Daily Journal, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Privacy policy.