INDIANAPOLIS — Two long-time newspaper editors, a two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and a trailblazing photo editor are scheduled for induction into the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame this spring.

Honorees include former Evansville Courier editor Tom Tuley and retired Fort Wayne Journal Gazette editorial page editor Larry Hayes. Another is reporter Ken Armstrong, who won Pulitzer Prizes in 2012 while at The Seattle Times and 2016 with The Marshall Project. Armstrong grew up in Carmel and graduated from Purdue University.

Others are Sandra Eisert, who grew up in Salem, Indiana, and was the first female picture editor of the Washington Post and at The Associated Press’ Washington office, and the late Hilliard Gates, a Fort Wayne-based sportscaster for more than 50 years.

They’ll be recognized during a May 19 luncheon in Indianapolis.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.