Local roundup – March 8


Academic All-State teams named

Three county basketball players were on the Academic All-State teams released by the IBCA on Wednesday.

Center Grove senior Joey Klaasen was a first-team selection for the boys, while Whiteland’s Mackenzie Blazek and Center Grove’s Cassidy Hardin were on the first team for the girls.

Earning honorable mention on the boys side were Jared DeHart of Indian Creek, Cole Ferguson of Whiteland, Eric Moenkhaus of Greenwood, Nate McLain, Ben Nicoson and Spencer Piercefield of Center Grove, as well as Drew Fleming, Jack Hegwood, Joe Kirkhoff and Matthew Looney of Roncalli.

On the girls side, seven locals earned honorable mention: Amy Davis and Karinna Frankel of Center Grove, Maya Elliott of Franklin, Sydney Logsdon, Celina McElroy and Makenzi Sizemore of Indian Creek; and Lauren Fey of Roncalli.

Mid-State honors top players

The Mid-State Conference released its boys and girls basketball all-conference teams this week, with Johnson County well-represented on both squads.

Five local players were selected for the girls team: Mackenzie Blazek, Megan Harlow and Natalie Stuck of Whiteland; Leah Moore of Greenwood; and Hailee Robbins of Franklin. Whiteland’s Kyle Shipp was named the league’s coach of the year.

The boys team featured six county players: Jeffrey Reynolds, Braydon Kincaid and Eric Moenkhaus of Greenwood; Cory Richards and Drew Byerly of Franklin; and Brennan Neal of Whiteland. Coach of the year honors went to Greenwood’s Joe Bradburn.