AUGUSTA, Maine — It could become illegal for a sex offender to take a photo of a minor without consent in Maine.

A proposed bill would make it a crime for a person required to register as a sex offender to intentionally photograph a minor without a parent or guardian’s consent.

The bill is set for a Monday hearing.

Such a crime would be punishable by up to 364 days incarceration and a $2,000 fine.

Republican Rep. Matt Pouliot introduced the bill.

Augusta police in January said they have received complaints from parents about a registered sex offender taking pictures of young girls and posting those pictures to social media sites.

Police said it would only be a violation if a sex offender is on probation and has restrictions prohibiting such behavior.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.