Filing ends, candidates announced

Officials seeing more interest this year; multiple contested races on ballot

When you head to the polls to vote this spring, you will have multiple contested races on your ballot, including county sheriff, judge, commissioner and council.

Some residents will also have a contested race for a state representative, who represents parts of Johnson County, and all voters will be able to cast a ballot in contested races for U.S. Senate and Representative.

More than 100 local residents filed to run as candidates for positions ranging from town council seats to state representatives.

Johnson County Deputy Clerk Reagan Higdon said she was pleased with the amount of candidates that had filed, saying the number had exceeded their expectations. Her office has noticed more interest from residents in elections since the 2016 general election, with more calls from people interested in how to register to vote, for example, she said.

This year, voters will cast ballots in U.S., state, county, town and township offices. And in the fall, school board members will be on the ballots.

Multiple races are contested, with the key races being for the party’s nomination in the primary election.

For example, Kirby Cochran, a sheriff’s office investigator, Stoney Vann, an Indiana State Police officer, and Duane Burgess, the county jail commander, have all filed as Republican candidates for county sheriff. Sheriff Doug Cox is not eligible to run again because of term limits. A Democrat, Jason Boudi, has also filed, but won’t face off with a candidate until the general election this fall.

Other contested races include for the offices of county auditor, county commissioner, county council, Circuit Court judge — replacing longtime judge Mark Loyd who is retiring — and races for town council and township advisory boards. For example, five candidates are running for two at-large seats on the Bargersville Town Council.

Once those races are decided, voters will then be casting ballots in the fall in other state representative and state senate races, and other local races as well where Democrats have filed.

Before voting begins in the coming months, voters still have time to update their registration or register for the first time. The deadline to register is April 9. Early voting at the courthouse begins April 10.

The deadline for candidates to withdraw from the ballot is noon Monday. One candidate, Amanda L. Martin, who had filed to run for Union Township Trustee as a Republican, has withdrawn so far.

Ballot shaping up

With deadline to file passed, a look at the candidates has been released

U.S. Senator

Mike Braun, Republican

Joe Donnelly, Democrat

Luke Messer, Republican

Todd Rokita, Republican

U.S. Representative, District 9

James Dean Alspach, Republican

Dan Canon, Democrat

Rob Chatlos, Democrat

Trey Hollingsworth, Republican

Liz Watson, Democrat

State Senator, District 41

Ross Thomas, Democrat

Greg Walker, Republican

State Representative, District 47

Susan Clare Diagana, Democrat

Scott Horvath, Republican

John T. Young, Republican

State Representative, District 58

Woody Burton, Republican

(Cindy) Cynthia Reinert, Democrat

State Representative, District 65

Chris D. May, Republican

Jared Stancombe, Democrat

State Representative, District 93

David N. Frizzell, Republican

Greg Rathnow, Democrat

Superior Court No. 1 Judge

Kevin M. Barton, Republican

Circuit Court Judge

Ryan Dillon, Republican

Steven L. Kennedy, Democrat

Andrew Roesener, Republican


Bradley S. Cooper, Republican


Trena McLaughlin, Republican

Kathy Stolz, Democrat


Pamela Burton, Republican

Ryan Rather, Republican


Jason Boudi, Democrat

Duane Burgess, Republican

Kirby Cochran, Republican

Stoney Vann, Republican


Mark Alexander, Republican


Teresa Petro, Republican

Kyle Swain, Democrat

County Commissioner, District 2

Matthew Adams, Republican

Kevin Walls, Republican

County Council, District 1

Justin Griggs, Republican

Peter Ketchum, Republican

County Council, District 2

Steve Byerly, Republican

Rob Henderson, Republican

County Council, District 3

Thomas Jackson, Democrat

Jon Myers, Republican

County Council, District 4

James Ison, Republican

Bargersville Town Council At-large, 2 seats

Paulette Rae Brown, Republican

R. Dustin Doyle, Republican

Larry W. Gates, Republican

Roger Dale Hitz, Republican

Rob Lowden, Republican

Edinburgh Town Council At-large, 2 seats

Ron Hoffman, Democrat

William (Bill) Jones, Republican

Marshall Ryan Piercefield, Republican

New Whiteland Town Council, Ward 2

M. Scott Alspach, Republican

New Whiteland Town Council, Ward 5

John T. Schilawski, Republican

Blue River Township Trustee

Ray B. Walton, Republican

Blue River Township Advisory Board, 3 members

Andy Barker, Republican

John A. Johnson, Republican

Larry V. Whitlock, Republican

Clark Township Trustee

Neil Trisler, Republican

Clark Township Advisory Board, 3 members

Charles S. Harlow, Republican

Hugh Kirkham, Republican

Diane E. Lindley, Democrat

Kelli Seybold, Republican

Ben Wyatt, Democrat

Franklin Township Trustee

Lydia S. Wales, Republican

Franklin Township Advisory Board, 3 members

Jeanie Barnett, Republican

Brandi Henderson, Republican

Samantha C. McMinn, Democrat

Anita J. Rich, Democrat

Brady N. Wethington, Democrat

Thomas A. Wood, Republican

Hensley Township Trustee

Beth A. Baird, Republican

Hensley Township Advisory Board, 3 members

Dennis Brownfield, Republican

William J. Meredith, Republican

Mary L. Wilkerson, Republican

Needham Township Trustee

Rita K. LaGrange, Republican

Needham Township Advisory Board, 3 members

Lucas R. Hendricks, Republican

Tara Payne, Republican

Rawdon (Rod) Staley, Republican

Nineveh Township Trustee

Janet Renner, Republican

Nineveh Township Advisory Board, 3 members

Jill L. Jackson, Republican

Kevin J. Jackson, Republican

L. Dale Mitchell, Republican

Pleasant Township Trustee

Mary Ann Powell, Republican

Pleasant Township Advisory Board, 3 members

John Asher, Republican

Mark E. Eccles, Democrat

Sharon K. Laughlin, Democrat

Jerry Napier, Republican

Britton (Big Sarge) Shoellhorn, Republican

Thomas L. Whitaker, Republican

Union Township Trustee

Annette Barr, Republican

Jana S. Chain, Democrat

Amanda L. Martin, Republican

Union Township Advisory Board, 3 members

John B. Baker, Democrat

Norma Deer, Republican

Jessica L. Legan, Republican

Tracy Mabry, Republican

Steve Miller, Republican

Ron Ping, Democrat

White River Township Trustee

Mark W. Messick, Republican

Greg Rainbolt, Republican

White River Township Advisory Board, 3 members

Larry G. Davis, Republican

David Heidenreich, Democrat

Dick Huber, Republican

David S. Pollard, Republican

Felicia Tiritilli-Davis, Democrat

Michael G. Wycoff, Republican

Margaret M. (Peggy) Young, Republican

Author photo
Jacob Tellers is a reporter at the Daily Journal. He can be reached at or 317-736-2702.