The race for sheriff will include at least three candidates all vying for the Republican nomination in the spring primary election.

Kirby Cochran, a sheriff’s office investigator, Stoney Vann, an Indiana State Police officer, and Duane Burgess, the county jail commander have all filed as candidates after creating exploratory committees in the past year to begin raising money for the sheriff race. Jack Bedan, a state police officer, also had  created an exploratory committee.

By Friday afternoon, the number of candidates who will appear on election ballots this spring has jumped to 26. Here are the new additions to the ballot:

  • Ron Ping, Democrat, Union Township Board
  • John B. Baker, Democrat, Union Township Board
  • Dick Huber, Republican, State Convention Delegate, District 6
  • Jerry Napier, Republican, Pleasant Township Board
  • Rita K. LaGrange, Republican, Needham Township Trustee
  • Teresa Petro, Republican, Johnson County Recorder
  • Rob Lowden, Republican, Bargersville Town Council
  • Duane Burgess, Republican, Johnson County Sheriff
  • John Myers, Republican, County Council, District 3
  • Rawdon (Rod) Staley, Republican, Needham Township Board
  • Brad Cooper, Republican, Johnson County Prosecutor
  • Greg Walker, Republican, State Senator, District 41
  • Woody Burton, Republican, State Representative, District 58
  • Chris D. May, Republican, State Representative, District 65
  • Ryan Dillon, Republican, Johnson County Circuit Court Judge
Author photo
Jacob Tellers is a reporter at the Daily Journal. He can be reached at or 317-736-2702.