JACKSON, Miss. — A Vicksburg Republican is the new leader of one of the top committees in the Mississippi Senate.

Briggs Hopson was named Thursday as chairman of the Judiciary A Committee. The former chairman, Republican Sean Tindell of Gulfport, left the Senate to become a judge.

Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves also announced that Republican Sally Doty of Brookhaven replaces Hopson as leader of the Energy Committee, and Republican Kevin Blackwell of Southaven replaces Doty as leader of the Elections Committee.

Republican Mike Seymour of Vancleave is the new chairman of the Executive Contingent Fund. He replaces Democrat Bill Stone of Holly Springs, who left the Senate to take a city job.