TRENTON, N.J. — New Jersey’s 120-member Legislature has formally been sworn in and is starting its new session.

New and returning lawmakers in the 80-member Assembly and 40-member Senate took their oaths of office in Trenton on Tuesday.

Like the previous Legislature, Democrats will have control.

They added one new Democrat in the Senate, where the party controls 25 seats and picked up two seats in the Assembly, where they control 54 seats.

Senate President Steve Sweeney returned to leadership, but Craig Coughlin has succeeded Vincent Prieto as Assembly speaker.

Democratic Gov.-elect Phil Murphy will take the oath of office Jan. 16.

GOP Gov. Chris Christie is set to give his final state of the state Tuesday.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.