AUGUSTA, Maine — Maine’s minimum wage will increase to $10 an hour in the new year thanks to a law approved by voters in 2016.

The hourly wage will then increase again to $11 in 2019 and $12 in 2020. Then, the wage will increase according to a formula.

Certain white collar employees will see their wages rise to $576.93 per week. Tipped employees must be paid at least $5 an hour by employers.

The voter-approved law originally required tipped employees like waiters and waitresses to make minimum wage regardless of how much they made in tips. Lawmakers later changed the law to only require employers to make up the difference when tips don’t exceed the minimum wage.

Some lawmakers have proposed to create a lower “training” wage for minors.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.