Winners of the Texas Associated Press Sports Editors player of the year award:

—2017: Spencer Sanders, QB, Denton Ryan

—2016: Charlie Brewer, QB, Lake Travis

—2015: Sam Ehlinger, QB, Austin Westlake

—2014: Kyler Murray, QB, Allen

—2013: Patrick Mahomes, QB, Whitehouse

—2012: Kenny Hill, QB, Southlake Carroll

—2011: Johnathan Gray, RB, Aledo

—2010: Johnny Manziel, QB, Kerrville Tivy

—2009: Scotty Young, QB, Denton Ryan

—2008: Garrett Gilbert, QB, Lake Travis

—2007: Jacquizz Rodgers, RB, Rosenberg Lamar

Author photo
The Associated Press
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.