Business briefs

Express donates money to veterans organization

Express Employment Professionals in Indianapolis is donating $5,000 to Operation: Job Ready Veterans.

The organization is dedicated to preparing service members, veterans, military spouses and caregivers for successful employment.

The donation is part of The Impact Project, an initiative of the company’s philanthropic committee out of its’ headquarters located in Oklahoma City.

The donation from Express will be used in direct support of the organization’s veteran employment transition seminars.

For more information and to find local offices, visit

Franklin College honors faculty at commencement

Franklin College honored five educators during the 2017 commencement ceremonies May 20.

Allison Fetter-Harrott, J.D., Ph.D., was the recipient of the Clifford and Paula Dietz Award for Faculty Excellence. The award recognizes a faculty member who exhibits competence in a chosen discipline or profession and the ability to inspire students and faculty colleagues.

Fetter-Harrott is an associate professor of political science and holds the Elmon and Lucile Williams Endowed Chair in Law and Public Service. Before joining the faculty at Franklin College, she served as a law clerk to the Honorable David F. Hamilton and practiced law at an Indianapolis law firm. Fetter-Harrott received a law degree from Indiana University-Bloomington Maurer School of Law and a doctorate in education leadership and policy studies from Indiana University. She received her bachelor’s degree in English education from New York University and her master’s degree in effective teaching, special education from Butler University.

While at Franklin she has served on the Liberal Arts Assessment Team, the President’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion, and is a member of SPARC, the current strategic planning task force that is charged with redeveloping the curriculum. She co-developed the Franklin College Mock Trial Team and she served on the most recent Presidential Search Committee. She began teaching at Franklin College in 2011. She resides in Indianapolis.

Sam Rhodes, Ph.D. and Steve K. Browder, Ph.D. received the Faculty Steering Committee Distinguished Service Award.

Rhodes is a professor of biology and former chair of the biology department. He holds a bachelor’s degree in zoology from the University of Michigan, and master’s and doctoral degrees in physiology from Michigan State University. He also received the deuxieme degree from the Universite de Strasbourg, France. He has served as an on-campus mentor for many students during their senior internship experiences, and organized a campus colloquium on evolution and intelligent design.

Browder is a professor of biology and the division head of natural sciences. He received a bachelor’s degree in biology from Pacific Lutheran University and a doctorate in plant physiology from the University of Oklahoma. He serves as academic adviser for pre-med students, oversees the pre-med SCRUBS Club and occupies the Charles A. Deppe Endowed Chair in Biology, a position he has held since 1987. He also serves on the Franklin College Physician Assistant Studies Advisory Board, which gives guidance on the development of a master’s program. Browder has also served an integral role in the implementation of a new curriculum and the planning for the new Franklin College Science Center.

Susan Crisafulli, Ph.D., was the recipient of the Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award. The award recognizes a faculty member who exhibits excellence in mastery of subject and effective communication.

Crisafulli is an associate professor of English. She was named the Academic Advisor of the Year in 2012 and was the recipient of the Clifford and Paula Dietz Award for Faculty Excellence in 2014. She has led various student travel courses to Europe and is one of the professors who teaches the college’s International Honors Experience. Crisafulli earned her bachelor’s degrees in English and psychology from Presbyterian College, her master’s degree in English from the University of Tennessee, and her doctorate degree from Vanderbilt University. She began teaching at Franklin College in 2008 and currently serves as chair of the English and Creative Writing Department and head of the Humanities Division. Crisafulli is a resident of Franklin.

Hank Nuwer was the recipient of the Faculty Excellence in Scholarship Award. The award recognizes a faculty member’s scholarly achievement at the college, as well as his/her work outside the college.

Nuwer is a professor of journalism. He received his bachelor’s degree in English from Buffalo State College and his master’s degree in English from New Mexico Highlands University. Nuwer is a renowned expert on hazing, appearing on numerous national media outlets to talk about the topic. He has authored 26 books, fiction and non-fiction, and roughly 2,200 articles. Nuwer has been named a Distinguished Alumnus of the State University College of New York for his work on hazing. Nuwer is a founding board member of and is a resident of Waldron.

Truck Service opens Columbus location

Truck Service, Inc. announces the opening of its seventh location, Truck Service Columbus, located at 12999 US 31, Edinburgh.

Like its six other sister locations, Columbus specializes in the maintenance, service and repair of light, medium and heavy-duty vehicles.

With a 14-bay facility and an ASI Certified team, Truck Service provides an extensive parts inventory, maintenance and repair services for vehicles such as pickups, SUVs, vans, RVs, buses, Class 3-8 trucks, trailers, emergency and farm vehicles.

For more information, please visit

Franciscan physician appointed to state public health study committee

Dr. Richard D. Feldman, has been reappointed as a lay member of the Indiana General Assembly’s Interim Study Committee on Public Health, Behavioral Health and Human Services.

An Indianapolis resident,  Feldman’s book, “Family Practice Stories,” also has earned him and the Indiana Academy of Family Physicians Foundation national recognition.

Feldman is director of the Franciscan Health Family Medicine Residency Program, which he has headed since 1981. He also directs the hospital’s medical education program.

He has held several elected appointments throughout his career, including president, with the IAFP, Indianapolis Medical Society and Indiana State Medical Association. In 2014, he received lifetime achievement accolades from the IAFP and the Indiana Public Health Foundation, which presented him with the 2011 Tony and Mary Hulman Health Achievement Award.

A South Bend, Indiana native, he is past president of the Indiana Medical History Museum. Feldman served as Indiana State Health Commissioner from 1997 to 2001.

Basketball hall of fame appoints Center Grove and Franklin grad

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame has elected new officers and added five new members to its board of directors following the organization’s annual meeting in mid-June.

Steve Witty, a 2012 Hall of Fame inductee, has been elected to a two-year term as president of the board.

Witty, a graduate of Center Grove High School and Franklin College, was the head coach at Ben Davis High School from 1990 to 2002, leading teams to 1995 and 1996 IHSAA state championships. Since 2002, he has served as executive director of the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. He lives in Avon.

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame was established in 1962 and opened the museum in New Castle in 1990. The mission is to recognize outstanding players and coaches from Indiana high schools and others whose contributions to Indiana high school basketball are noteworthy as well as to maintain a historical museum which portrays the history of Indiana basketball. To find out more, visit or call 765-529-1891.