Take note: Scholarship fund names winners

The Center Grove Scholarship Fund has named the winners for this year. They are:

Alex Girdley Memorial Scholarship, $1,079: Alex L. Milligan

Class of 1965 Vandy and Margaret Scholarship, $1,000: Sarah Ashley Varney

Leslie Cook-Dickerson Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Connor S. Campbell

Friends Forever Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Madelyn Rae Weeks, Haley Suzanne Kiefer, Taylor Benjamin Ward

Denney French History Scholarship, $1,000: Hannah E. Wilson

Band Boosters Scholarship, $1,000: Eshaan Tushar Lothe

Texas Roadhouse Scholarship, $1,000: Ross William Davis

Carol and Dale Tumey Scholarship, $1,000: Sydney Jane Miller

Julie Anne Swengel Memorial Scholarship, $3,200: Bailey Jackson Smith

Optimists Club/Lee Webb Memorial Scholarship, $1,500: Sara Elise Porter, Kara Grace Nussbaum

Zachary Scott Schafer Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Christopher John Rakow

Rachael Hope Valentine Scholarship, $1,000: Laura Cassidy Keeley, Lindsey K. Adade-Yebesi, Emily Katherine Jansen

David A. Hicks Memorial Scholarship, $1,000, Julia Abigail Lynn Dahl

Johnson County Community Foundation Endowment Scholarship, $1,000: Alan Michael Beard, Nathan Matthew Weishaar

Tyler Scott Leitzman Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Brooklyn Harmony Armstrong

Jarrod Tyler Poston Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Trenton Alexander Line, Trevor Robert Holt

Pamela L. Todd Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Bailey Lynn Conder, Noah Matthew Tallman

Marty Ernsting Memorial Scholarship, $1,500: Lauren Elizabeth Teike

Judith A. Meeks Choral Music Scholarship, $1,000: Adrianna Nicole Goss

Kenzie Susanne Holubar Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Bailee Nicole Leathers

Steve Hamilton Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 Brant M. McCracken

West Grove Honor Scholarship, $1,000: Zachary Broady Dancheck

Jean Allen Robertson Memorial Scholarship, $2,000: Elizabeth Grace Webb

Sandra Hillman Early College Scholarship, $1,000: Aissa Renee Houpt

Award of Excellence scholarships were give to:

Victoria Baer

Carinne Barker

Daniel Beaver

Michael Harmon

Jordan Jeanette

Brynn Kelsey

Natalie Kintsler

Jasmine Miller

William Rasmussen

Benjamin Roeder

Griffin Smith

Michael Staats

Lauren Steitz

Harrison Sutton

Alyssa Tapy

Students perform at Carnegie Hall

Local students will have a chance to perform at a famed concert hall in New York City later this month.

The Symphonic Youth Orchestra of Greater Indianapolis will perform at the Viennese Masters Orchestra Invitational in Carnegie Hall in New York City.

Local students who are performing are:

Kayla Bull, Franklin; Wesley Burris, Franklin; Jacob Ford, Franklin; Ethan Rather, Franklin; Luke Roberts, Franklin; T.J. Vculek, Franklin; Emma Erickson,Center Grove; Dillon Gardner, Center Grove; Ben Graves, Center Grove; Owen Graves, Center Grove; John Hummel, Center Grove; Nathan Rakes, Center Grove; Ana Cook, Center Grove Middle School Central; Carissa Cook, Center Grove Middle School Central; Emily and Natalie Haynes, Greenwood.

Local school disctrict receives award

Nineveh-Hensley-Jackson Schools have received awards for online resources available for teachers to boost teaching.

The district was named a Common Sense Certified District for Digital Citizenship.

The district honored 10 Indiana school districts and 49 nationwide with this distinction for the 2016-2017 school year.

Indian Creek High School, Indian Creek Middle School, Indian Creek Intermediate School and Indian Creek Elementary School earned individual school digital citizenship certification.

The districts used Common Sense Education’s innovative and research-based digital citizenship resources, which were created in collaboration with the GoodPlay Project at the Harvard Graduate School of Education.

The resources teach students, educators and parents tangible skills related to Internet safety, protecting online reputations and personal privacy, managing online relationships and respecting creative copyright. The free resources are currently used in more than 90,000 classrooms nationwide.