Take note – May 8

Center Grove students named merit finalists

Eight Center Grove High School students have been named national merit finalists.

Students were chosen among 15,000 semifinalists who submitted a detailed application and provided information about their academic records, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities and honors and awards.

To be considered, students must also have outstanding academic records throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by an official from their high schools and submit essays and SAT scores.

The students are: Sydney Castellanos, Peter Golder, Megan Libke, Max Newport, Emily Simon, Aaron Thielmeyer, Ashley Varney and Akul Vijayvargiya.

Roncalli student named state Academic All-Star

The Indiana Association of School Principals named Roncalli High School senior Claire Whalen a 2017 Indiana Academic All Star.

Whalen, one of 40 seniors in the state to receive this honor, was chosen by a committee that reviewed more than 400 nominations.

County students take Major Field Test

Local students helped contribute to a high ranking for Franklin College on the business Major Field Test.

This year’s cumulative class score ranked Franklin College in the top six percent among 602 U.S. colleges and universities that use the test.

As a requirement for their degree, senior business majors at Franklin have taken the test since 1992. The exam tests a student’s ability to retain and apply the knowledge gained in their business, economics and accounting classes.

Local students who took the test are: Bethany Henderson of Franklin and Logan McNamee of Bargersville.

Students serve as pages

Local students got an inside peek at state government by serving as pages at the Indiana Statehouse.The following students served as pages:

Kaitlyn Brewer, Central Nine Career Center

Taylor Chambers, from Greenwood, attends Indiana Academy

Devlin Hall, Clark-Pleasant Middle School

Emaleigh Jones, Central Nine Career Center

Colby Kerner, from Greenwood, attends Heritage Christian

Braxton Laster, Central Nine Career Center

Destiny Lozano-Sanders, Central Nine Career Center

David Ryan, Whiteland Community High School

Kevin Stucker, Whiteland Community High School

Gracie Taylor, attends Central Nine Career Center

Pages observe actions on bills, tour the Statehouse and run errands for legislators.

Center Grove names award winners

Center Grove High School seniors each nominated the teacher who made the greatest impact on them during their time in Center Grove schools.

These elementary, middle, and high school teachers are the recipients of the 2016-17 Legacy Awards.

This year’s winners include:

Center Grove Elementary School: Connie Allen, Amanda Ardizzone, Malia Casper, Eric Long, LeAnne Matthews, Sonny Moore, Amie Myers, Peggy Young and Terry West.

Maple Grove Elementary School: Tami Cuskaden, Connie Deiwert, Ron Hobson, Betsy Leavitt and Wendy Schmidt (retired).

North Grove Elementary School: Janet Gee (retired), Letha Hines, Penny Poynter (retired), Joyce Rogers and Ron Siner.

Pleasant Grove Elementary School: Devin Arms, Candy Brookhouse (retired), Tiffany Crabtree, Jennifer Fields, Vicki House (retired) and Amy Traut.

Sugar Grove Elementary School: Jodi Barth, Linda Gallman (retired), Jason Mueller Jennifer Ridens, Nancy Sawa (retired) and Doug Wooton.

Center Grove Middle School Central: Dan Andersen, Anthony Bell, Paula Boas, Matt Ehresman, Stacie Painter, Susan Porter, Gary Robinson, Matt Rodman, Jeanne Schwartz, Bryan Turner, John Voelz and Lindsey Wissel.

Center Grove Middle School North: Chrissy Harmon, Joe Higginson,Barb Johnson,Travis McMahen,Rick Miller, Nick Pearson, Jeff Peterson, Andrew Smiley, Mark Snodgrass and Meg Witt.

Center Grove High School: Dana Bowling, Jackie Fowler,John Frank (retired), Nathan Fry, Krista Hensley, Eric Howe, Kraig Kitts, Andrew Kominowski, Alisha Lemons, Jerry Maguire, Tracy McMahen, Marty Mills, Mark Scanlan (retired), Jacob Short, Joshua Surface, Brad Timmons, Rachel Tonte, Trina Veerkamp.

Two local students on model UN team

Two local students were on an award-winning Model United Nations Team at Franklin College.

The Franklin College Model United Nations Team, comprised of eight students, was awarded international honors for its representation of North Korea at this year’s National Model United Nations Conference in New York City.

The team received “Outstanding Delegation” recognition, which is the highest award given by the conference, ranking the FC Model UN Program as one of the top programs in the world. Franklin College was the only school from Indiana to earn this honor. To earn this recognition, the team remained “in-character,” participated in committees and used the rules of procedure.

Local participants include: Jackson Hughes and Katie Curry of Franklin.

Greenwood Robotics offering camp

Your robotics loving youngster can attend a camp this summer.

Greenwood Robotics is offering a camp from 8 a.m. to noon June 19 to 23 at Greenwood Community High School, 615 W. Smith Valley Road.

Cost is $100.

Registration can be done at greenwoodrobotics.com.