Caucus tonight to pick 2 new officials

Daily Journal staff reports

Franklin Republican precinct committee members will meet tonight to pick a new member of the city council and a new member of the Franklin Township board.

Candidates for city council are Brian Alsip, Bob Heuchan and Jim Higdon. One resident, Brandi Henderson, has applied for the township board seat, said Beth Boyce, the Johnson County Republican Party chairwoman.

The caucus is at 7 tonight at Franklin city hall, 70 E. Monroe St.

The township board seat became open when member David Bayless resigned because he is moving out of the township. The city council seat has been vacant since Steve Barnett resigned as a member when he was selected as Franklin mayor.

The three-member township board approves the annual budget and spending for the trustee’s office, which provides temporary housing for residents in need and pays for fire protection for parts of the township outside of city limits. The city council sets the annual operating budget, OKs extra spending and approves rules or plans for the city, such as smoking bans, increasing fees or setting up a new tax-increment financing district.