Recycling district collecting tattered flags

In honor of Flag Day on June 14, the Johnson County Recycling District is collecting tattered or unwanted flags June 1 to 10 at several locations throughout the county.

Collection locations include: Greenwood City Hall, 300 S. Madison Ave.; Greenwood Public Library, 310 S. Meridian St.; Bargersville Town Hall, 24 N. Main St.; Edinburgh Public Library, 119 W. Main Cross St.; Johnson County Veteran’s Affairs office, Johnson County Courthouse North Annex (north entrance); Trafalgar Town Hall, 2770 W. State Road 252, Trafalgar, and Johnson County Recycling District, 900 Arvin Road, Suite A, Franklin.

All flags will be accepted.

The flags will be retired ceremoniously June 14 at the American Legion Post 205, 1200 Park Ave., Franklin. The public is invited to attend.

For more information contact Kim Schafstall at or 738-2546.