Business briefs

New store coming to Greenwood mall

Dry Goods specialty store will open its third Indiana store July 16 at Greenwood Park Mall.The store will feature contemporary clothing, shoes, jewelry and accessories targeted at young women from leading brands including Alternative Apparel, Double Zero and Naughty Monkey.


s earns national awardBeltone, a hearing aid manufacturer, announced recently that the Beltone Legend, a device used to work with iPhones, was named a 2016 Stevie Award-winner in the health and pharmaceutical products category in the 14th Annual American Business Awards.

Beltone Legend is able to connect to personal devices such as iPhones, iPads and iPods, allowing direct streaming of sounds to hearing aids. The HearPlus app for iPhone, Apple Watch and Android lets users discreetly control Beltone Legend hearing aids on the go.

The American Business Awards are the nation’s premier business awards program.

Beltone Legend also is a candidate for the 2016 People’s Choice Stevie Awards for favorite new products. The public can help select the winner by voting at

Local Beltone stores are at 7007 U.S. 31 South, Greenwood, and 1118 N. Main St., Franklin.

Residents named to state boards

Indiana Gov. Mike Pence recently made appointments to boards and commissions.Johnson County residents were appointed to the following:

Indiana Commission to Combat Drug Abuse: John H. Hill, appointed to serve as chairman

Early Learning Advisory Committee: Nathan T. Williamson, appointed to complete a vacant two-year term through Sept. 30, 2017

Insurance Producer Education and Continuing Education Advisory Council: Kevin N. Wheeler, reappointed to serve a three-year term through May 31, 2019

Board of Safety Review: Randall A. Gieseking, appointed to serve a four-year term through May 31, 2020

Franklin College honors professors

Franklin College honored four educators during the 2016 commencement ceremonies on May 21.Justin M. Gash, Ph.D., of Franklin, associate professor of mathematics and computing, was recipient of the Clifford and Paula Dietz Award for Faculty Excellence. The award recognizes a faculty member who exhibits competence a chosen discipline or profession, communicates about their field well to students and stimulates students and faculty to do their best work.

Meredith Clark-Wiltz, Ph.D., of Franklin, assistant professor of history, was recipient of the Faculty Steering Committee Distinguished Service Award. The award is given to a faculty member who shows outstanding service to the college.

Beth Moore, Ed.D., of Morgantown, associate professor of education, received the Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award. The award is given to a faculty member who exhibits excellence in his or her subject and has effective communication and works well with students.

Robert Beasley, Ph.D., of Franklin, professor of mathematics and computing, is the recipient of the Faculty Excellence in Scholarship Award. The award recognizes a faculty member’s scholarly achievement at the college, as well work outside the college through publication, presentations or other work. He was recognized for his publishing and speaking in his field.