Four to be inducted into Franklin hall of fame

Four alumni will be named to the Franklin Community High School hall of fame later this year, as the second group of inductees.

Mark Janis, who graduated from the high school in 1982; Niel Ellerbrook, a 1966 graduate; Connie Leonard, who graduated in 1955; and the late Max Friedersdorf from the class of 1948, will be inducted into the hall of fame this fall.

The hall of fame was created last year to celebrate graduates who have gone on to be successful and promoted the school district’s guiding principles of individual student growth, communication, systemic continuous improvement, collaboration and trust, Superintendent David Clendening said. Six alumni were inducted for the first year of the hall of fame.

Eight or nine people were up for consideration to be in this year’s class, Clendening said.

Janis is an Indiana University professor of law and also has written briefs read at the U.S. Supreme Court; Ellerbrook retired as the chief executive officer of natural gas utility Vectren in 2010; Friedersdorf was the chief economic adviser for former President Ronald Reagan, and Leonard worked for years as secretary for the school district.

An induction ceremony is scheduled for Aug. 26, and the inductees will get a special introduction during the first home football game of the season on Aug. 27, Clendening said.