Mutual Savings Bank recognized

A Franklin-based bank was honored for 125 years of service by the Indiana Secretary of State.

Mutual Savings Bank, which opened in 1890, has financed thousands of homes and cut hundreds of ribbons on new businesses, according to a news release from the secretary of state’s office.

“Mutual Savings Bank has been here since 1890 because its community members wanted a strong local community bank that would invest in local homes, jobs and quality of life,” Indiana Secretary of State Connie Lawson said in the release.

The bank has five branches in Johnson County, which are in Franklin, Nineveh and Trafalgar.

“Institutions like Mutual Savings Bank are crucial to communities throughout Indiana. They provide the financial tools and resources needed to make our cities and towns a better place to live, work and play,” Franklin Mayor Joe McGuinness said in the release.

Lawson visited the bank Friday and presented a certificate to recognize the more than 125 years of service in Johnson County.

Author photo
Annie Goeller is managing editor of the Daily Journal. She can be reached at or 317-736-2718.