Election filing deadline is Friday

The deadline for residents who want to run in local races in this year’s election is noon Friday.

In addition to voting for the state governor and president of the United State, Johnson County residents will also be able to vote for local offices such as county council, county commissioner, coroner, surveyor and treasurer.

Within the past week, four Johnson County residents have filed for county office seats.

The following candidates had filed for office as of noon Wednesday:

  • Josh McCarty, Republican, Johnson County Council at-large
  • Chris Mull, Republican, county council at-large
  • Nathanial (Nate) Annis, Republican, county surveyor
  • John E. Myers, Republican, county council at-large