4 Trojans lead all-state football selections

4 Trojans on AP All-State team

Seven local players, including the Daily Journal’s Johnson County Player of the Year, have earned First Team All-State football honors from The Associated Press.

Class 6A state champion Center Grove leads the local list with four selections, including senior defensive tackle Jovan Swann, the Daily Journal’s 2015 Player of the Year.

Swann is joined on the Class 6A team by teammates Cameron Tidd, a senior defensive tackle, and senior defensive back Tyler Pence and junior running back Titus McCoy.

In Class 5A, Whiteland had two players on the first team in senior offensive lineman Tyler Johnson and junior kicker Jacob Ballain.

In Class 4A, Greenwood senior Jackson Daugherty made the first team at defensive back.

On the Class 6A honorable mention list, Center Grove had seven players: Senior offensive lineman John Richardson; junior offensive lineman Clay Hadley; senior punter Drew Conrad; senior kicker Nathanael Snyder; junior defensive lineman Dan Root; senior linebacker Jackson Sodrell; and junior linebacker Bailey Bennett.

Among Class 5A honorable mentions Whiteland had junior offensive lineman Garrett Crowthers and junior defensive lineman Ryder Emberton.

In Class 4A, senior linebacker Brayton England, junior defensive back Dylan Rosado and senior offensive lineman Austen Cummings were honorable mention for Greenwood. Senior linebacker Zach Dowell and junior offensive lineman Alex VanDyke made it for Franklin.

In Class 3A, senior quarterback Gynson Robley and junior wide receiver Bryce Hogue were honorable mention for Indian Creek.

— Staff and wire reports