Franklin College quarterback named Player of the Year

Franklin College sophomore quarterback Chase Burton has been named the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year.

Heading into Saturday’s NCAA Division III playoff game against visiting Ohio Northern University, Burton has passed for 3,560 yards and 34 touchdowns. He has completed 67.4 percent of his passes and has also rushed for eight touchdowns.

Burton was joined on the HCAC First Team by teammates Lee Wroblewski, a sophomore wingback; Mason Deal, a senior split end; Dylan Jenney, a senior tight end; senior offensive linemen Austin Carlton and Blaine Kowalkowski; senior defensive lineman Nate Bryan; junior defensive lineman Devante Ash; senior linebackers Jeremiah Windell and Lucas Windell; and junior defensive back Taylor Christensen.

Senior offensive lineman Dillon Webb and junior defensive back Ryan Connor were named second team All-HCAC. Junior running back Kole Stogner, a Greenwood graduate, and senior wingback Kendal Butler were named honorable mention.