June 15 Scoop Briefs



Franklin Head Start enrolling students

Franklin Head Start has openings for the 2015-16 academic school year.

Applications are being accepted for children ages 3 to 5 who are income eligible.

Information: 346-0000.

Scholarship available through Red Cross

High school and college students who conduct a summer blood drive could earn a scholarship.

The American Red Cross is hosting the scholarship through the Leaders Save Lives program.

The Leaders Save Lives program encourages 16- to 24-year-olds to host blood drives to help maintain the blood supply throughout the summer months.

Students who participate as a blood drive coordinator are eligible to win a scholarship up to $2,500 for higher education.

Registration is open to host a participating blood drive through Aug. 31. Registration can be done at redcrossblood.org/leaderssavelives.

Hospital foundation picks scholarship winner

The Johnson Memorial Hospital Foundation has picked its 2015 scholarship winners.

They are:

JMH Guild Continuing Education Health-Related Scholarship for Employees/Volunteers, $2,500 — Tiffany Betts and Jennifer Hendrix, both of Franklin.

JMH Guild High School Health-Related Scholarship, $3,500 each — Mariah Brown of Edinburgh and Alexa Nemeth of Franklin.

Freda P. and Millard R. Montgomery Registered Nursing Scholarship, $1,000 per semester — Alexis Hash of Franklin.

Katie Robards Memorial Scholarship, $1,000 — Katie Ann Mitchell and Cynthia Rhoda, both of Bargersville; Mariah Brown of Edinburgh; Abagail Goin, Ashley Hartkorn, Alexis Hash, Jennifer Hendrix, Ginger Tidrow and Ginnie York, all of Franklin; Kristy Biro, Brakayla Hillis, Kelly Johnson, Persephone Kriner-Sotos, Jacob Leachman, Haley Ochsner, Abigail Shank and Jeffrey Scott Wagerman, all of Greenwood; Riley Hoffman of Indianapolis; Jill Lawalin of Morgantown; Brooke Boles, Alanna Esque and Mary Lefevers, all of New Whiteland; Erika Tex of Trafalgar; and Karley Beam and Audrey Wise, both of Whiteland.

Roncalli announces baccalaureate awards

Roncalli High School in Indianapolis gave out baccalaureate awards in May.

Recipients are:

Kaleigh Wilham, Robert F. Tully Scholarship.

Austin Brewster, Christian Beard, Barbara Kratsios, Bryce Bridgewater, Casey Gore and Nat Otley, perfect attendance for all four years.

Kevin Lemmel, Bernie Dever Award.

Hannah Gahimer, Caleb Hartford, Megan Powell and Samantha Walesky, St. John XXIII Award.

Annie Wagner and Matt Cunningham, Spirit of Roncalli Award.

Local Girl Scout volunteers earn honors for service

Local volunteers for Girl Scouts of Central Indiana earned awards.

Susan Crisafulli, Wendy Elkins, Kelley Hartman, Rachel Page and Charissa Syvinski were awarded the Girl Scout Appreciation Pin, a national award.

Heather Bass was awarded the Thanks Badge.

Crisafulli, Elkins, Hartman, Syvinski and Bass help troops based in Franklin. Page’s troop is based in Greenwood.