School News – May 11



Pair of students earn scholarships

Indian Creek High School senior Jacqueline Miller and Center Grove High School senior Collin Robertson are the recipients of the 2014-15 Johnson County REMC $1,000 academic scholarships.

Story continues below gallery

Recipients earn the award based on academic and personal achievement and on a submission of an essay relevant to the electric industry.

Miller plans to attend Ball State University majoring in journalism broadcast and news. Robertson will study business at Indiana University.

Greenwood preschool accepting applications

A Greenwood-based preschool is accepting applications.

Greenwood United Methodist Church is enrolling the prekindergarten, 3s and 4s classes.

Information: 893-6486

Local student to attend science, tech conference

A sophomore at Greenwood Christian Academy will attend the Congress of Future Science and Technology Leaders.

Grace Weeks was nominated to attend by astronaut Buzz Aldrin based on her academic achievement, leadership potential and passion for science and technology.

During the three-day program, Weeks will join students from across the country and hear Nobel laureates and National Medal of Science winners talk about leading scientific research and be given advice from deans of technical universities.

2 IUPUI students receive scholarships

Two Greenwood students earned scholarships from the Indiana University School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI.

Daniel Elsner, a senior majoring in history and psychology, is receiving the Loretta Lunsford Scholarship. Elsner will study the use of digital texts vs. print texts in the undergraduate classroom.

Arden Gervase, a junior majoring in Spanish and minoring in Latino Studies, is receiving the Margaret A. Cook Foreign Study scholarship and the Nancy Newton Study Abroad scholarship. Gervase would like to study immigration law in law school.

Center Grove Schools name legacy winners

The Center Grove School District has named legacy winners for the school year.

The Legacy Award winners are chosen by Center Grove High School seniors who nominate the elementary, middle and high school teachers who have made the most impact on their lives.

Some teachers are no longer with the school district.

The award winners are:

Elementary school: Amanda Ardizzone, Devin Arms, Jonathan Connor, Linda Cook, Joanne Dean, Connie Deiwert, Janet Gee, Shannon Glenn-Helmer, Jason Mueller, Amie Myers, Penny Poynter, Barbara Sylvester, Amy Traut, Terry West, Doug Wooton and Peggy Young.

Middle school: Dan Andersen, Matt Ehresman, Rose Ann Fohey, Nancy McDowell, Rick Miller, Jeff Peterson, Gary Robinson, Matt Rodman, Kathy Sagorsky, Jeanne Schwartz, Joe Shimp, Mark Snodgrass, Lauren Widbin and Meg Witt.

High school: Courtney Bohannon, Jeff Buckmaster, Wes Dodson, Summer Ehresman, John Frank, Krista Hensley, Eric Howe, Jerry Maguire, Angie Marsh, Tracy McMahen, Marty Mills and Casey Tedrow.

More briefs on Page A7

Scholarship available through Red Cross

High school and college students who host a summer blood drive could earn a scholarship.

The American Red Cross is hosting the scholarship through the Leaders Save Lives program.

Leaders Save Lives program encourages 16- to 24-year-olds to host blood drives to help maintain the blood supply over the summer months. Students who participate as a blood drive coordinator are eligible to win a scholarship up to $2,500 for higher education.

Registration is open to host a participating blood drive between June 1 and Aug. 31. Registration can be done at