Business briefs



Formal wear store hosts prom fashion show

Southside formal wear retailer RaeLynn’s Boutique hosted a fashion show in January at the Indiana Convention Center.

Project Runway designer Johnathan Kayne co-hosted the show and presented the audience with his prom and pageant gown designs. RaeLynn’s hosted the show to kick off the prom season.

More than 30 businesses donated items that were given away at the show. Thirty models selected from 1,000 entries for RaeLynn’s model search walked the runway wearing designer gowns sold at the store.

RaeLynn’s Boutique opened in November 2008. The store is at 455 Greenwood Park Drive South, Greenwood.


7 businesses join Franklin chamber; officers elected

The Franklin Chamber of Commerce board of directors and staff welcomed seven new businesses to its membership in early February.

New members include Class Hoosier Realtors in Franklin, Ferguson Construction Co. in Columbus, Johnson County Business Referral Group in Franklin, McMurray Transport LLC in Trafalgar, Success in Focus LLC in Franklin, West Point Financial Group in Indianapolis and Vaught Family Eye Care in Franklin.

For more information about becoming a member, or for a calendar of events, contact the chamber at or call 736-6334.

The Franklin Chamber recently elected two new board members and officers.

Dustin Huddleston, an attorney with Huddleston & Huddleston, and Chase Schletzer, a financial adviser for Edward Jones Investments, will serve two-year terms on the board of directors.

Aaron Brown, an Indiana licensed commercial property and casualty insurance agent for Green Owens Insurance Agency, is the newly elected president; Tandy Shuck, executive director for Leadership Johnson County, will serve in the vice president role; and Angela Chamberlin, a partner at Chamberlin & Taylor LLP Public Accounting Firm, serves as the board treasurer.

Also serving on the board of directors are members: Lisa Buening, Jeff Byrd, David Clendening, Steve Hood, Dale Hughes, Theresa Lehman, Terry Miller, Greg Taylor, Jennifer Wilson, Steve Wohlford and Melanie Zimmerman.