Candidates begin filing for primaries

A Franklin city council race is already set for a primary contest.

Former Franklin city council member William “Ted” Murphy and former Franklin school board member John Wales have both filed to run for the city’s district 3 seat. The two Republicans are the first contested race set for the May primary ballot.

Candidates could begin filing for a spot on the ballot this week.

Both incumbent mayors, Mark Myers in Greenwood and Joe McGuinness in Franklin, also filed on the first day and are seeking their second terms in office.

Voters will elect mayors in both cities, city and town councils, clerks and clerk-treasurers and city court judges in this year’s election. Residents of unincorporated areas such as the Center Grove area and southern Johnson County won’t head to polls this year.

All of the 13 people who have filed to run so far are Republicans. Here’s who has signed up to be on the primary ballot so far:

Mark Myers, Greenwood mayor.

Linda S. Gibson, Greenwood City Council District 1.

Greg Hill, Greenwood City Council District 3.

Mike Campbell, Greenwood City Council at-large.

Nick Schwab, Greenwood city clerk.

Lewis J Gregory, Greenwood city court judge.

Joseph “Joe” McGuinness, Franklin mayor.

Richard L. Wertz, Franklin City Council District 2.

John Wales, Franklin City Council District 3.

William “Ted” Murphy, Franklin City Council District 3.

Joe Abban, Franklin City Council District 5.

Steve Barnett, Franklin City Council at-large.

Kim Van Valer, Franklin city court judge.