Franklin teacher of the year announced

Franklin schools has named a Webb Elementary School teacher as its 2015 teacher of the year.

Denise Rodenhuis is a Title 1 teacher at Webb, meaning she’s paid with federal funds Franklin receives to help educate students from low-income families. Previously, she taught reading recovery, kindergarten, third grade and fourth grade. She earned a bachelor’s degree from Ball State University and a master’s degree from Indiana University.

Rodenhuis has been key in adding reading programs at Webb, and she leads the school’s 4-H group, according to a news release from the school district.

She and several of her colleagues were honored at a year-end recognition dinner last month.